Where do you really come from?

Thinking about being online, presence and presentation

Making new friends

Posted by pricklykina on May 29, 2008

Friends not typical

My boss asked to be my facebook friend today. Not, like. my immediate boss but my big big boss.

I balked.

I said no.

Usually I find it hard to say no to the big big boss. But this no came out like water under pressure.

I think I may have even whined “but then I’d have to self edit”

Refelcting on this I wondered why i had this reaction. This guy knows me, employs me, sees me most days. My facebook was has always had a degree of reticence about it in case I ever want a job as a politician. So why would I be so fearful about him seeing “Me”

This realtes to that whole area of online presentation. Who are we? I feel like I’m authentic at work so whywould I be afrid of sharing. Certainly other work mates are on my face book. But I guess there’s heirarchy thing. What would he think if he knew”that”

As I write, I remind myself that I often am bothered by thinking about what others think of me. This is my own stuff and it’s great to reflect and see that this is what is happening. And that is the beauty of self reflection

He wants to read this blog too….not a chance!

3 Responses to “Making new friends”

  1. Its interesting isn’t it? I have work colleagues in a ‘work’ list with limited access to my profile on FB. But then I am all over the net in a variety of identities 😀

  2. amalia nurachmawati said

    meneketehe

  3. Anonymous said

    i like it

Leave a comment